function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Gabriel Corrêa de OliveiraGabriel Corrêa de Oliveira 

No long-lasting logs in Force.com?

I am new to Force.com and I am still having a hard time to wrap my head around so many things.

In every "normal" production system, logs are constantly collected and kept for a reasonable amount of time according to a retention policy. Usually days or weeks. Thus, system administrators can monitor logs and detect potential problems before users even notice them.

However, with Salesforce, thinks seem to be very different:

Apparently logs will only be collected in a "per-session" basis and for a specific user. I can't find any practical way to generate logs for all the users of my "org" and retain them for any period longer than a few minutes.

My Salesforce "org" contains a lot of Apex code that interacts with external services and performs DML operations against "the database". Hence, there are many things that can go wrong during a normal business day for our users.

Alas, it seems that Force.com expects us to only collect logs to "debug" whatever goes wrong. Thus, we have to wait for a user to complain about something, enable the logs for his or her session, and ask him or she to reproduce whatever went wrong.

So, I wonder if this is really the best we can do with Force.com in terms of logging.

If so, it couldn't be more disappointing. I just can't believe that such a successful platform can have such a narrow-minded approach to logging.

Thank you.
pbattissonpbattisson
Hi Gabriel