• Member since 2008

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Hello all,

I'm very new at SalesForce and I have read through most of the documentation and developed the Mileage application from the workbook, but I'm still struggling with what should be a simple task.

Here is the scenario in a nutshell:
I am developing a custom application that a corporate team will use to provide feedback to new SalesForce users about how they are using the SalesForce platform.

Below is the VisualForce page the corporate team will see to submit new feedback. Obviously not finished, but this is the basic idea: select a SFDC user from the {!Users} object, enter the URL of the page in question, and create a message.

How does one pull in the data from the Users object and use it in the selectList? In a standard SalesForce form, related fields open a dialogue where you can either select or search for users. Is there any way to call that functionality from your VisualForce page?

Code:
<apex:page standardController="Feedback__c">

<h1>Provide Feedback</h1>

<apex:form >

<apex:pageBlock title="Enter New Feedback" mode="insert">
                       <apex:pageBlockButtons >
                       <apex:commandButton action="{!save}" value="Save"/>

</apex:pageBlockButtons>
                       <apex:pageBlockSection title="Feedback Details" columns="2">              
                       <apex:selectList value="{????}"/>   
                       <apex:inputField value="{!Feedback__c.URL__c}"/>
                       <apex:inputField value="{!Feedback__c.Details__c}"/>

</apex:pageBlockSection>
                </apex:pageBlock>
        </apex:form>

I understand that methods can be written in your controller class that may be able to accomplish this task, but this brings me to my second very newbie question: Why when I create a custom controller does my {!save} method no longer work?