Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Hello. I am faced with a problem. I have created some custom objects:

An Order has Order Items

An Order is related 1:1 with an Opportunity

and obviously an Opportunity is linked to an Account

I have another object which is related to Order Items. The trouble is that when a user goes to lookup an Order Item, they find it easiest when the Account Name is in a column. I have yet to find a way to do this without

1) Writing S Controls
2) Adding redundant fields (like Account), and doing a lot of checks with S-Controls (to make sure someone doesn't change the Account etc.

Any thoughts? Which road should I go down?

John

Hello Folks. I am new to JavaScript, and have hit a wall. I am attempting to get a basic relationship query to work:

sforce.connection.query(
   "Select Id, Account.Name, Amount From Opportunity limit 30",
   callback);

When I take a look at the Array:

//get the records array
var records = queryResult.getArray('records');
recordstring = records.join(";")
sforce.debug.log(recordstring)

I get something like this in the output window:

{type:'Opportunity', Id:'00660000008GofYAAS', Account:{type:'Account', Id:null, Name:'Gift Collector.com', }, Amount:'25350.0', };
{type:'Opportunity', Id:'00660000008GqscAAC', Account:{type:'Account', Id:null, Name:'Federal Signal', }, Amount:null, }

This looks workable, but I can't figure out how to extract the Account information. The Opportunity data works great ([array].Id, [array].Amount), but I'm at a loss with the Account info. I tried something like array[i][3][1], but that didn't seem to work.

Even the tiniest hint would be greatly appreciated.

John

When I create a Mail Merge document with a single field for each column in the table, my quotes merge correctly. However, if I have two or more fields in a single column, I get strange results. For example, I attempt to use the following merge codes in a single column