• 595 Points
  • Member since 2008

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I am new to force.com and apex and am coding up a batch class to copy records from the Opportunity object into a custom object.

Everything is working well except I can't figure out how to access fields in a relationship to Opportunity such as Account.Name.

For example, I am using a query such as this in my batch class start method:

global Database.QueryLocator start(Database.BatchableContext BC){
        return Database.getQueryLocator('SELECT o.Amount, o.Account.Name from Opportunity o');
    }

Then in my execute method, I am accessing the values like this:

global void execute(Database.BatchableContext BC, list<sObject> scope){
        List<OpportunityTrend__c> opps = new List<OpportunityTrend__c>();

for (sObject s : scope) {

OpportunityTrend__c OpTrend = new OpportunityTrend__c();

OpTrend.Amount__c = (Decimal)s.get('Amount');

opps.add(OpTrend);

}

insert opps;

}

Where I need help is in the syntax to get at the o.Account.Name field string value.

I've tried this, but it doesn't work:

OpTrend.AccountName__c = (String)s.get('Account.Name');

I'm not sure if my problem is in my s.get() call (wrong syntax, wrong method, etc) or if it's in my initial SOQL query.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

BTW, I have looked at this thread: SOQL-Getting-Opportunity-AccountName-in-one-query which appears to be very similar to the question I have, but does not provide the level of detail I need.

Thanks!!

-mike

Hi,

I am having some trouble writing unit test for my apex class. I keep getting the error:System.DmlException: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: REQUIRED_FIELD_MISSING, Required fields are missing: [Member__c]: [Member__c]. 

Here is my code: 

public class exNewFeedback {

public Case requests {get; set;}
    public String details {get; set;}
    public String fbFrom {get; set;}
    public String fbSource {get; set;}