• 170 Points
  • Member since 2008

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I'm new to VF and Apex programming, but making good progress in building some custom pages and classes by Googling a lot.  But one thing I'm still trying to better understand is the transfer of values between the web browser, VF page, and the backend Apex class.

For example, if I have an input text field on a VF page, when a user inputs a value, or changes a value, in that field, at what point is that value actually "set" in the variable in the Apex class, and available for computations?

New/changed values seem to get transferred and set upon some sort of page refresh, or action, but I'm having a hard time finding documentation on exactly how the transfer of data occurs.  Please note, I'm not assuming there's any special event processing occurring on the field (such as onblur, onchange, etc), just interested in basic field input/output and when the values actually get transferred.

I hope this question is making sense...

Is anything like this covered in any Apex or VF documentation that maybe I missed?

Thanks!

Can anyone help me with the below test class? It is for a trigger that creates a new record in the "Onboarding" object based off criteria in the "Application__c" object.

Here is the test class as I have it now, but I am getting an error of "Error: Compile Error: unexpected token: 'insert' at line 13 column 8"

@isTest
private class OnboardingTest {

static testMethod void myOnboardingTest() { 

Account a=new Account();
        a.Name='ob test account';
        insert a;

Contact con=new Contact();
        con.Lastname='onboarding contact';
        con.AccountId=a.Id
        insert con;

Job__c job=new Job__c();
        job.Name='Test job1';
        insert job;

test.startTest();

Application__c app=new Application__c();
        app.RecordType='012C0000000Bhsc';
        app.JobId=job.Id
        insert app;

app.Stage__c='Signed';