• 0 Points
  • Member since 2009

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies

I have three Visual Force pages in the Customer Portal that reference an external server

The https:\\elm.fincad.com URL for the external server is referenced in the Remote Site settings

Our IT people have recently started using load balancing on the external server. This means that there are two virtual machines now associated with the URL. If one goes down then the other is still running. The requests are distributed across the two servers.

The pages don't work when in load balancing mode with 2 servers.
However, when one of the virual servers is disabled it works fine.

Both servers seem to be configured properly.

Does anyone know what might cause the issue.
The security certificate seems to be fine.

Are there any other salesforce related settings that might impact permissions when using load balancing?

• December 02, 2011

I'm new to Apex programming and am looking for a way to catch the exception below? 

Is there a better way to implement the DoSearch(); method? 

Apex script unhandled exception by user/organization:

Visualforce Page: /apex/Solution_Search

caused by: System.SearchException: search term must be longer than one character: *

Class.SolutionListController.doSearch: line 43, column 35 External entry point

public with sharing class SolutionListController {
    public SolutionListController(ApexPages.StandardSetController controller) {

}

Public String solutionId {get;set;}

public List<Solution> results {
        get{
            if(results == null) results = new List<Solution>();
            return results;
        }
        set;   
    }

public ApexPages.standardcontroller Controller {get;set;}

public Solution s { get; set; }

public SolutionListController(ApexPages.StandardController stdController) {
        // constructor
        Controller = stdController;
        this.s = (Solution)stdController.getRecord();
    }