• Member since 2016

• Chatter
    Feed
    Best Answers
    Likes Given
    Questions
    Replies
Hi, 

I have been requested to attend a meeting tomorrow here is the brief beklow, what jumps out as to discovery questions to ask etc... any help welcome im not experienced with external objects or person accounts or complex integrations

"We were able to create OData server and create external objects in Salesforce. Reading, saving and creating new objects works.

Here are some questions and topics for the meeting.

What are the possibilities to link external objects and Salesforce internal objects? We know that it is possible to create relation between objects.
For example at the moment we have Client external object which have some relations to internal objects. Is it possible to “merge” somehow the Client object and internal “Person Accounts”. We would like to see our clients as Person Accounts in salesforce where data is saved externally. The “merge” should be done somehow at the attribute level not between objects.

If that kind of merge is not possible then we need to create client object, page layout etc. from scratch. Is that correct? Do we lose some of the SF functionalities when we are not using Person Accounts?

Our idea is to store client data externally (we can and want to store non sensitive data into SF if possible) and at the same time use all SF functionalities like Cases, Files, Notes, etc.
We were able to create OData server and create external objects in Salesforce. Reading, saving and creating new objects works.

Here are some questions and topics for the meeting.

What are the possibilities to link external objects and Salesforce internal objects? We know that it is possible to create relation between objects.