Can anyone please provide suggestions as to how to use 'IN' in a  dynamic SOQL

// runs the search with parameters passed via Javascript
        public PageReference runSearch() {

String billcode = Apexpages.currentPage().getParameters().get('billcode');

List<String> parts = billcode .split('\\,');
}

if (!billcode.equals(''))

soql += ' and bill_Code__c IN '+parts+'';

In the search parameter if i pass billcode as BC23,BC42, this is the SOQL that is generated

select Name, Branch__c, F1__c, F2__c, F3__c from Obj__c Where Branch__c!=null and bill_Code__c IN (BC42,BC93) order by Branch__c asc limit 25   // quotes missing

but the search doesn't return anything. it needs to be IN ('BC42','BC93') // quotes for each passed value.
I am new to Salesforce, so excuse me if I missed he obvious.

We have a Saleforce Site setup which is called ContactDirectory. I received a requirement to split this page to two pages: one for faculty, and another for staff. I tried two approaches trying to avoid the third approach.

My first thought was that I can simply choose Faculty Record Type for Contact object in a profile of the first site, and Staff Record Type for the second site. It turned out I misunderstand the purpose of selecting record types in profile of the site. I am still not clear on it, but it did not work.

My second way was to retrieve URL in a controller and then alternate SOQL query conditioned to this URL. URL which contains faculty will only select records for Faculty Record Type etc. Here I am not sure if it is good idea to build logic around URL. The main reason I am stack with idea is I do not know how to fix test cases that use PageReference to trigger controller. Specifically, I do not know how to set/pass URL when triggering VF page.

The third option would be just to copy everything for the second Site.

What would the best approach here? Should I try to reuse VF page and controller for similar sites?

Thanks.
  • July 26, 2013